- No pork, shellfish, or other "forbidden" animals (think of birds that don't fly, fish that don't swim, etc.) ever.
- No milk (dairy) or meat (flesh of even allowed animals) at the same time.
- No grape products that aren't made by Jews/ (Sorry, Welch's . . . we rock Kedem (and Tom Ford, bring back the Concorde (jet vs. grape)) in the Amore home)
- No half-ass cheats like turkey bacon.
You see there is "Kosher" and then there is "Kosher for Passover" where additional foods are taken off the proverbial table. If you are an observant Ashkenazi Jew you can't eat and chametz. If you are a observant Sephardic Jew you can't eat chametz or kitniyot.
- Maybe you've heard of a lil' something we call the coconut macaroon!
- Perhaps you've enjoyed the gefilte fish (don't dismiss it . . . the jarred stuff is an "acquired" taste but you can make your own that is down-right splendid).
- And who could forget the soup so good and iconic and amazing they sell it year-round at some of the world's finest Jewish eateries. That's right - matzah ball soup is Kosher for Passover.
- Which brings me to the most controversial of ALL the Passover foods . . . MATZO itself.